1st Place (Best Overall)
A 50MS/s (35mW) to 1kS/s (15 µW) Power Scaleable 10b Pipelined ADC with Minimal Bias Current Variation
Imran Ahmed, David Johns - Univ. of Toronto, Toronto, ON, Canada

2nd PlaceA 1.3 TOPS H.264/AVC Single-Chip Encoder for HDTV Applications
Tung-Chien Chen, Yu-Wen Huang, Chen-Han Tsai, Ching-Yeh Chen, To-Wei Chen, Liang-Gee Chen - National Taiwan Univ., Taipei, Taiwan

3rd PlaceA Side-Channel Leakage Free Coprocessor IC in 0.18µm CMOS for Embedded AES-based Cryptographic and Biometric Processing
Kris Tiri, David Hwang, Alireza Hodjat, Bo-Cheng Lai, Shenglin Yang, Patrick Schaumont, Ingrid Verbauwhede - Univ. of California, Los Angeles, CA


1st Place – Design and Implementation of a Fractional-N Frequency Synthesizer for Cellular Systems
Petrus J. Venter, Saurabh Sinha - Univ. of Pretoria, Pretoria, South Africa

2nd PlaceA 1-V IEEE 802.11a/b/g-Compliant Receiver IF-to-Baseband Chip in 0.35µm CMOS for Low-Cost Wireless SiP
Pui-In Mak, Rui P. Martins - Univ. of Macau, Macao SAR, China
Seng-Pan U - Chipidea Microelectronics (Macau) Ltd., Macao SAR, China

3rd PlaceCollision Detection System using an FPGA Implemented on the FPX Platform Hasan N. Atay, Burchan Bayazit, John W. Lockwood - Washington Univ., St. Louis, MO

2004 SDC Winner.jpg