49th DAC Awards

Marie R. Pistilli Women in EDA Achievement Award

Marie R. Pistilli award.jpg

Dr. Belle W.Y. Wei     Don Beall Dean of the Charles W. Davidson College of Engineering, San Jose State Univ.

For her significant contributions in helping women advance in the field of EDA technology.

P.O. Pistilli Undergraduate Scholarships for Advancement in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering


Catherine Agor Mullings     

The objective of the P.O. Pistilli Scholarship program is to increase the pool of professionals in Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering, and Computer Science from under-represented groups (women, African-American, Hispanic, Native American, and physically challenged). In 1989, ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SIGDA) began providing the program. Beginning in 1993, the Design Automation Conference provided the funds for the scholarship and a volunteer committee continues to administer the program for DAC. DAC normally funds a $4000 scholarship, renewable up to five years, to graduating high school seniors.

A. Richard Newton Graduate Scholarships


Advisor: Prof. Yiran Chen     Univ. of Pittsburgh
Student: Wujie Wen     Univ. of Pittsburgh

Each year the Design Automation Conference sponsors the A. Richard Newton Graduate Scholarship to support graduate research and study in Design Automation (EDA). Each scholarship is awarded directly to a University for the Faculty Investigator to expend in direct support of the project and students named in the application. The criteria are: the quality and applicability of the proposed research; the impact of the award on the EDA program at the institution; the academic credentials of the student(s); and financial need.unteer committee continues to administer the program for DAC. DAC normally funds a $4000 scholarship, renewable up to five years, to graduating high school seniors.

2011 Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to EDA

Sponsored by the EDA Consortium and IEEE Council on EDA


Dr. C. L. David Liu    William Mong honorary chair professor of Computer Science and former president of the National Tsing Hua University in Hsinchu, Taiwan

Dave Liu is honored for his work in leading the transformation from ad hoc EDA to algorithmic EDA.

IEEE CEDA Outstanding Service Contribution

Sponsored by the EDA Consortium and IEEE Council on EDA


Leon Stok    IBM Corp.

For significant services as DAC General Chair 2011.

Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award for the IEEE Transaction on CAD


Umit Ogras    Intel Corp.
Paul Bogdan     Carnegie Mellon Univ.
Radu Marculescu    Carnegie Mellon Univ.

For the paper titled: “An Analytical Approach for Network-on-Chip Performance Analysis,” IEEE Transaction on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems, December 2010, Vol. 29, No. 12, pp. 2001-2013.

ACM/IEEE A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation


Altan Odabasioglu    Gear Design Solutions
Mustafa Celik     BlueWave Design Automation
Larry Pileggi    Carnegie Mellon Univ.

For advancing the theory and implementation of model order reduction for efficient circuit analysis via dominant pole/zero methods.

“PRIMA: Passive Reduced-Order Interconnect Macromodeling Algorithm,” IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems, August 1998, Vol. 17, Issue 8, Pages 645-654.

ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems (TODAES) 2011 Best Paper Award


Jason Cong     
Bin Liu     
Rupak Majumdar     
Zhiru Zhang     2010

For Paper Titled: “Behavior-Level Observability Analysis for Operation Gating in Low-Power Behavioral Synthesis”. ACM Trans. Des. Autom. Electron. Syst. 16, 1, Article 4 (November 2010), 29 pages..

SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award


David Atienza     Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Outstanding New Faculty for 2012.

SIGDA Outstanding PhD Dissertation Award


Dr. Tan Yan    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Prof. Martin D. Wong (Dissertation Advisor)     University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

In recognition of the outstanding dissertation “Algorithmic Studies on PCB Routing.”

IEEE Fellow


Luis Miguel Silveira     Technical Univ. of Lisbon

For contributions to analysis and modeling of VLSI interconnects.

ieee_fellow Trimberger.jpg

Steve Trimberger     Xilinx Inc.

For contributions to circuits, architectures, and software technology for field-programmable gate arrays.

ieee_fellow Chang.jpg

Naehyuck Chang     Seoul National Univ.

For contributions to system-level power characterization, including thermal management