52nd DAC Awards

Marie R. Pistilli Women in EDA Achievement Award

Margaret Martonosi.jpg

Margaret Martonosi     Princeton University

For her significant contributions in helping women advance in the field of EDA technology.

P.O. Pistilli Undergraduate Scholarships for Advancement in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering

Moie Uesugi

Antonio Anguliar     attending California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo
Moie Uesugi     attending Brown University

The objective of the P.O. Pistilli Scholarship program is to increase the pool of professionals in Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering, and Computer Science from under-represented groups (women, African-American, Hispanic, Native American, and physically challenged). In 1989, ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SIGDA) began providing the program. Beginning in 1993, the Design Automation Conference provided the funds for the scholarship and a volunteer committee continues to administer the program for DAC. DAC normally funds a $4000 scholarship, renewable up to five years, to graduating high school seniors.

EDAC - IEEE/CEDA Phil Kaufman Award Re-Presentation

Dr. Lucio Lanza

Dr. Lucio Lanza     Lanza Tech Ventures

For providing innovative EDA and IP companies with exceptional vision, mentoring, and financial support

IEEE CEDA Outstanding Service Award

Soha Hassoun

Soha Hassoun     Tufts Univ.

For outstanding service to the EDA community as DAC General Chair in 2014.

IEEE CEDA Outstanding Service Award

Jörg Henkel.jpg

Jörg Henkel     Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

For outstanding service to the EDA community as ICCAD General Chair in 2013.

IEEE Fellow  

For contributions to hardware/software codesign of embedded computing systems.

IEEE Fellow

Steven P. Levitan.jpg

Steven P. Levitan     Univ. of Pittsburgh

For contributions to mixed-technology micro-systems education.

IEEE Fellow

Michael Orshansky.jpg

Michael Orshansky     Univ. of Texas at Austin

For contributions to VLSI design for manufacturability.

IEEE Fellow

Yuan Xie.jpg

Yuan Xie     Univ.of California at Santa Barbara

For contributions to design automation and architecture of three-dimensional integrated circuits.

IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award

IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design.jpg

Kai Hu    
Feiqiao Yu    
Tsung-Yi Ho    
Krishnendu Chakrabartyl    

For the paper titled, “Testing of Flow-Based Microfluidic Biochips: Fault Modeling, Test Generation, and Experimental Demonstration,” Vol. 33, Issue 10, pp. 1463 - 1475, October 2014.

A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation


Blaise Gassend     Google

Dwaine Clarke     Univ. of the West Indies

Marten van Dijk     Univ. of Connecticut

Srinivas Devadas     Massachusetts Inst. of Tech

For pioneering contributions in the discovery and use of silicon physical unclonable functions (PUFs) for the design and operation of secure integrated circuits and systems.

2015 ACM TODAES Best Paper Award


Hamid Shojaei     Univ. of Wisconsin

Twan Basten     Eindhoven University of Technology

Marc Geilen     Eindhoven University of Technology

Azadeh Davoodi     Univ. of Wisconsin

A fast and scalable multidimensional multiple-choice knapsack heuristic. Volume 18, Issue 4, Article 51, October 2013

ACM SIGda Outstanding New Faculty Award

>Muhammad Shafique

Muhammad Shafique     Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

In recognition of a junior faculty member who demonstrates outstanding potential as an educator and/or researcher in the field of electronic design automation.

ACM SIGda Outstanding PhD Dissertation Award

Wenchao Li

Wenchao Li     Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

In recognition of an outstanding Ph.D. dissertation that makes the most substantial contribution to the theory and/or application in the field of electronic design automation.
“Specification Mining: New Formalisms, Algorithms and Applications”
Advisor: Sanjit Seshia, University of California, Berkeley

ACM Fellow

Srinivas Devadas

Srinivas Devadas     MIT

For contributions to secure and energy-efficient hardware.

ACM Fellow

acmfellow_Nikil Dutt

Nikil Dutt     University of California, Irvine

For contributions to embedded architecture exploration, and service to electronic design automation and embedded systems.

ACM Fellow

acmfellow_Subhasish Mitra

Subhasish Mitra     Stanford University

For contributions to the design and testing of robust computing systems.

ACM Fellow

acmfellow_Vijay Narayanana

Vijay Narayanana     Pennsylvania State University

For contributions to power estimation and optimization in the design of power-aware systems.

ACM Fellow

acmfellow_Parthasarathy Ranganathan

Parthasarathy Ranganathan     Google

For contributions to the areas of energy efficiency and server architectures.

ACM Fellow

Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli

Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli     University of California, Berkeley

For contributions to electronic design automation.