Women in Electronic Design

DAC57 invites you to join us at multiple events during the conference to highlight innovations, contributions, and achievements of women in technology and address the growing needs of professional women in the semiconductor field.  Come network and inspire future generations to confidently follow and outpace our footsteps. Check back soon for a schedule of events.


Marie R. Pistilli Women in Electronic Design Award

The Marie R. Pistilli Women in Electronic Design Award is a prestigious annual honor that recognizes individuals who have visibly helped to advance women in electronic design. The award is named for the late Marie R. Pistilli, former organizer of DAC, who placed a high value on equality, diversity, and acceptance.

Join us at the 57th DAC when we announce this year's Marie R. Pistilli Award honoree during the General Session Awards presentation on Monday, July 20, 2020, at Moscone West, San Francisco, California.


2019 Marie R. Pistilli Award Recipient

Iris Bahar
Professor of Engineering and Computer Science at Brown University 

Iris Bahar received her B.S. and M.S. degrees in computer engineering from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Colorado, Boulder. Before entering the Ph.D. program at CU-Boulder, she worked at Digital Equipment Corporation as a senior hardware designer responsible in one of their microprocessor design groups.   She has been on the faculty at Brown University in the School of Engineering since 1996.   Her research interests include computer architecture; computer-aided design for synthesis, verification and low-power applications; design, test, and reliability issues for nanoscale systems; and most recently, design of robotic systems.  Her research has been continuously funded since 1997 through various industrial and government sources, including the National Science Foundation, DARPA, DoD, SRC, Intel, IBM and NASA. Iris is a Senior Member of the IEEE and a Distinguished Scientist of the ACM.

Past Recipients of the Marie R. Pistilli Award
  • 56th DAC, 2019 - Iris Bahar, Brown University 
  • 55th DAC, 2018 - Anne Cirkel, Mentor, a Siemens Business
  • 54th DAC, 2017 - Janet Olson, Synopsys, Inc. 
  • 53rd DAC, 2016 - Soha Hassoun, Tufts University
  • 52nd DAC, 2015 - Margaret Martonosi, Princeton University
  • 51st DAC, 2014 - Diana Marculescu, Carnegie Mellon University
  • 50th DAC, 2013 - Nanette Collins, Nanette V. Collins Marketing, and Public Relations
  • 49th DAC, 2012 - Dr. Belle W. Y. Wei, San Jose State University
  • 48th DAC, 2011 - Limor Fix, Intel Corp.
  • 47th DAC, 2010 - Mar Hershenson, Magma Design Automation, Inc.
  • 46th DAC, 2009 - Telle Whitney, Anita Borg Institute
  • 45th DAC, 2008 - Louise Trevillyan, IBM Research Center
  • 44th DAC, 2007 - Jan Willis, Cadence Design Systems, Inc.
  • 43rd DAC, 2006 - Ellen Yoffa, IBM
  • 42nd DAC, 2005 - Kathryn Kranen, Jasper Design Automation, Inc.
  • 41st DAC, 2004 - Mary Jane Irwin, Pennsylvania State University
  • 40th DAC, 2003 - Karen Bartleson, Synopsys, Inc.
  • 39th DAC, 2002 - Ann Rincon, AMI Semiconductor
  • 38th DAC, 2001 - Deidre Hanford, Synopsys, Inc.
  • 37th DAC, 2000 - Penny Herscher, Cadence Design Systems, Inc. (previously)
2020 Marie r. pistilli award Steering Committee:
Ann Mutschler | Semiconductor Engineering

Anne Cirkel | Mentor, A Siemens Business

Ayse Kivilcim Coskun | Boston University

Harry Foster | Vice Chair DAC

Jan Willis | Industry Consultant

Seena Shankar | Cadence Design Systems, Inc. 

Valeria Bertacco | University of Michigan

for questions or information please contact:

Annette Crider

Sophia Sun